The BIM Handbook (Book Review)

This is a review of the book, “BIM Handbook: A Guide to Building Information Modeling for Owners, Managers, Designers, Engineers and Contractors” by Chuck Eastman, Paul Teicholz, Rafael Sacks, and Kathleen Liston, published by Wiley in March 2008. The review presents an overview of the book, and explores how well it meets its intended goals of providing an in-depth understanding of BIM technologies, the business and organizational issues associated with its implementation, and the advantages that effective use of BIM can provide to all members of a project team.

URL: http://www.aecbytes.com/review/2008/BIMHandbook.html

4 thoughts on “The BIM Handbook (Book Review)

  1. You asked in your article why VectorWorks isn’t mentioned in the book. I think it would have confused readers had it been mentioned: I would not categorize VW as being BIM-capable. It is neither as scalable nor capable of creating the data that the other BIM apps can. That VectorWorks is marketed as BIM clouds the waters for those trying to determine what direction to take if they want to become BIM-capable. Or had VW been mentioned in the book, then it would need disclaiming just as AutoCAD Architecture got from the book — these programs don’t create whole buildings; they create pieces that are cobbled together to form a whole.

  2. I also agree that this is an excellent book. However, I also keyed in on your VectorWorks reference in your article. Regardless of any labels, VectorWorks *was considered* in the recent BIM Interoperability Summit from the Federal Facilities Council and buildingSmart North America workshop/demo at the end of July. In fact, it beat out the most used tool in the industry (Revit) and received a 7/10 from the judges Bill East and Nick Nisbet. See more information here:
    http://www.buildingsmartalliance.org/news/20080723.php

  3. The qualification of VectorWorks in the context of BIM would be interesting, also from an academic point of view. Nemetschek clearly markets it as such and they give their own definition about it. http://www.nemetschek.net/bim/articles.php
    http://www.nemetschek.net/bim/anderson_whitepaper.php

    When I used MiniCAD and the first editions of VectorWorks, while working at an architecture office, I would not qualify it as BIM, but the application has clearly grown since. On the last demo I saw, earlier this year, I discussed this with the reseller and he was convinced about it’s CAD features, but mentioned clear limitations that hinder it to work according to a full BIM approach.

    On the other hand, I would personally classify AutoCAD Architecture as a true BIM application, despite some (many) limitations.

    (FWIW, I am an ArchiCAD user)

  4. Gosh! This is what I was looking for.
    I mostly agree with you, that this book is an excellent book (for universities) worth having. I would like to use it as a reference material for my course in application of IT in Architecture. I have already ordered a copy for my department.
    Keep on enlightening us on the issue…….Viva BIM

    I am an ArchiCAD, Revit, Tekla user/learner.

Comments are closed.